Spiritual Symbols

Spiritual symbols are one of the wonderful things that can leave a strong psychological impression in our minds. We feel love by looking at some peaceful symbols.  In contrast, there are symbols that make us feel darkness due to their demonic presence.

There are various kinds of spiritual symbols; however, here are seven of the most popular symbols in the spiritual realm as well as their meanings.

1) The Hamsa

Hamsa is the Arabic word for “five” and indicates the five fingers of the hand. The Hamsa is the sign of protection that people combine with the Evil Eye to warn somebody who wants to harm you.  Due to the history of this symbol, if you are carrying this symbol while someone looks at you with evil intentions, they will be unable to harm you.

2) The Tree of Life

The Tree of Life exists in some different cultures and religions around the world. In Christianity, it is considered as the tree in the Eden garden from which Adam and Eve picked the forbidden fruit. Generally speaking, people reckon The Tree of Life as a connection between the four earth elements (air, earth, wind, and fire). It is also an image of the infinite relationship of all things in creation.

3) The Flower of Life

The Flower of Life, one of the major symbols of sacred geometry,  seems to include all of the patterns of creation. Containing more than seven overlapping symbols, The Flower of Life is regarded to be one of the sacred formations that dates back to almost every ancient culture.

4) The Yin Yang

Yin Yang reflects the harmonization of duality. It represents the unity between feminine (Yin) and masculine (Yang) energies. The universe follows the law of balance. The Yin Yang is a spiritual balance between the light and the darkness that supplies a universal approach to living a meaningful life.

5) The Lotus Flower

The lotus plays an important role in religion. Not only in Buddhism but also in several other religions, the lotus is a fundamental spiritual symbol that is seen as a sign of enlightenment. The lotus flower grows out of the dark and muddy water of materialism to open its petals to the sunshine of enlightenment. This symbol implies the adventure out of darkness and into transformation. It is also a sign of the detachment since water droplets easily slide off the pedals.

6) The Ahnk

It is a famous ancient symbol of life in Egypt. The Ahnk looks a lot like a cross, but with a circle at the top. Its meaning is a little bit debatable, but the most recognized meaning of the Ahnk is that it is a representation of eternal life and regeneration. It was often used in tombs and funerals in ancient Egypt. Nowadays, people consider it as a sign of life and spiritual wisdom.

7) The Pentacle

The Pentacle is a five-sided pentagram with a circle around it. The top point implies the spirit while the other four points indicate the four elements. This symbol is usually used in the Wiccan religion. It is believed to be a protector against evil.